Tags

, ,

Just found out not even an hour ago that my dog of 14 years, who I have been exceedingly fortunate to have, is approaching the end of his time in this world. He has exceeded the average age of his breed by two years and so I am trying not to get too depressed over his pending passage. I remember 6 years ago when he injured his back. He made the most terrifying sound I’ve ever heard and I feared for his life then, and so for him to have fully recovered and lived as long as he has was a tremendous victory. I’m trying to be grateful for what I got from that. I can still remember the rehab and him learning how to walk again. I’m going to make him comfortable until the time comes that he starts to go downhill and then I’ll have the vet treat him to a humane end.

Always cherish your time with your pets. It’s all too brief.

