Tags

On the last day of 2014 I started work on my latest project, and I have to say that I am pleased with the results thus far. I was worried that the skills I had developed may have eroded over the winter break, but those fears were unfounded. I tore it up all throughout the month of January as my refined writing process let me produce better results on the first pass through.

Towards the end of the year I did a little reading to get back in the swing of things. The best piece of advice that I found from the manuals I reviewed was the most basic step of all, “just write.” During my winter break in which I worked exclusively on plotting out projects I often felt stymied by my inability to drum up new ideas. Just doing a little bit of writing, even if it’s all gibberish, is a great way to get the gears turning. The instant I started actually writing I got into a rhythm and found it easier to plot things out further ahead in the story.

After managing 11,000+ words in January I gave myself February 1st off to enjoy Super Sunday. Today I got right back to work and knocked out another 800 words or so. I couldn’t be more thrilled with how things are going. Maybe this idea will be the first one I manage a complete story for.

