Tags

As usual, it has been quite some time since my last post. I thought writing about my last failure so close to it actually happening would help me cope with it and move on to my next project more quickly, but alas I went through my usual cycle of mourning afterward. What is that cycle? It’s a lot like the down period in a romantic comedy after the girl breaks up with her boyfriend, only instead of drowning my sorrows in ice cream I end up spending an inordinate amount of time playing video games and trying not to think about anything writing related until I get a jolt of inspiration.

Doesn’t sound so bad right? It wouldn’t be if I could commit to the part where I just play video games until getting that next jolt of inspiration, but it never happens that way. Instead, for over a month I periodically try to split my time between playing games and brainstorming my next idea — which never works. When you’re feeling creatively tapped out I feel the best thing you can do is get as far away from trying to create as you can, but my own stubbornness kept me going back to the well because I wanted things to be different this time. I wanted to rebound more quickly, get back on the saddle more quickly, but all I did was shoot myself in the foot repeatedly like so many bad professional sports coaches. I kept doing the same thing and hoping for different results.

It wasn’t until a week ago that everything finally came together. I successfully pushed my writing out of my mind for long enough that a new idea began to take root somewhere in my subconscious. The past few days have been wonderful as it has taken hold of my imagination. I’m ready to begin the cycle of writing anew, and maybe, just maybe this will be the time it all works out. Probably not, but that hope is what keeps me going.

