Tags

, , ,

So, shock of shocks, I haven’t posted in a while, but for once I actually have a good reason! I finally got that shift change I wanted at my workplace. Because of that I’ve had to make a few changes in my life. It took a while to find a way to work my old routines back into my life, but I’ve finally got it down pat once again. So, for that, I’m happy. Hopefully I can get back to some sort of semi-regular posting rate for this blog.

I’m happy to report that physically I am doing much better now. Getting away from my previous job, which was rather grueling to say the least, has me feeling better than I have in many years. I’ve been scorching the treadmill everyday for what has amounted to several weeks now. I feel great physically and that has helped me to feel better mentally.

Another thing that has helped me to feel better is the addition of a new dog to the family. Her name is Lucy. Being a combination Maltese/Jack Russell means she is a hyperactive basket case. The perfect addition to my household. She acts as a personal trainer for my Miniature Dachshund, Otis. She is great with people and a joy to be around. I do wish our house-training for her was going bit more smoothly, but she’ll get the hang of it eventually. One bright side to all of this is that I’m becoming quite the expert with a mop.

During the time since my last post I kicked around a few story ideas and recently managed to start putting one of them to paper. I’ll be honest, I am just totally seat of the pants writing this one. I was just feeling antsy to start writing something, and I’ve been planning and plotting out other ideas in great detail, but something about this story just made me feel excited enough to dive in headlong and start writing immediately. Plus, being brutally honest, when I’m not actively writing, my depression beats me down. It’s very upsetting when all I’m doing is plotting and planning. It’s all very simple for me– if I’m writing, I’m happy. If I’m not writing? I’m absolutely miserable. So I gotta do what I can to keep myself writing and smiling.

I also have other, far less important, news about how I’m spending my free time when I’m not working on my writing or exercising. I was always afraid to talk about this stuff since I feel people would judge me for my preferences, but really, who cares? No point in being ashamed of myself. I am, however, still going to withhold information on the books I’m reading. Not for any shame of what they are, but because it’s too easy for people to spoil books on the internet, even accidentally. So I’m just going to avoid the conversation about books I am reading until I finish a series. When that happens perhaps I will devote a whole post to the topic of that one series. We’ll see.

I’ve made a lot of room on my TV schedule. I dropped some shows that have been declining, Vampire Diaries and Pretty Little Liars specifically, and also gave up on a show that I enjoyed but simply do not have the free hours to watch anymore– The Originals, it will be missed. I’ve also condensed my viewing of professional wrestling down to an average of less than five minutes per week. The shows are so entrenched in their lazy formula that you can watch them on ultra fast forward and get just as much out of it as if you wasted your time watching the whole event, but I digress. If I get rambling about it I could go about how horrible professional wrestling has become for many, many, paragraphs, and nobody wants that.

In gaming news I’ve moved on from NHL 15. I won the league title in Hockey Ultimate team twice. Translated for the non-gamer that sentence provides two important bits of information. One– that I spent way too much time playing virtual hockey, an almost yearly tradition in my life at this point, and two– that I’m going to die alone. That was always in the cards though. After leaving NHL I made a return to Diablo 3 and have been splitting time between it and the brilliant new game, Rocket League.

It feels great to be posting again and I think I want to take a stab at a few new content ideas for this blog, so hopefully I’ll get to test those ideas out soon, but we’ll see. Those of you who have been reading since the beginning know just how sporadic my posting history is. Still, maybe this post will be the moment I finally find consistency and establish myself as a serious blogger– probably not.

